Scottish Trust Deed Forum
 Questions about the 6 year bad credit
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

krisd

5 Posts

Posted - 22 June 2018 :  13:32:29  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
OK this is my first time posting so first of all "Hi!"

Background...I signed my TD back in June 2012 (terms were 36 months), my TD became protected in Aug 2012 and I was discharged Mar 2016.
My wife was not included in the TD.

My wife and I are looking at moving house and so I asked my financial adviser for some help, however upon checking my Noddle Credit Report they told me that at this moment in time I won't be able to get lenders to give me a mortgage as the Trust Deed will show on my credit report for 6 years after the discharge date. Now to my knowledge, and the knowledge of those at the Insolvency company where my TD was based, a Trust Deed should only show on my Credit Report for 6 years from the beginning of the Trust Deed (however I don't know if this is the date of signing or the date of protection).
So my financial advisor told me there would be nothing they could do until at least April 2019 (3yrs after discharge) and even then it would be 50 / 50 with regards to whether I could get a mortgage and instead they have advised me to wait until April 2022 (6yrs after discharge) before applying for any mortgage. Unfortunately this does not fit our time frame (ideally want to move within a year)

I was just looking for someone to validate what I am saying is correct or to enlighten me otherwise.