Trust Deeds
 Scottish Trust Deed Forum
 Entering into trust deed. Scared about mortgage
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Stewy19

4 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2019 :  15:04:41  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi I am new to all of this and quite scared at the prospect of being in a trust deed. We just set one up and are going threw the process of debts etc and what we pay out. My main worry is my home. From the start I said I am scared about my mortgage I have two young children and donít want to lose my home. They assured me that would not be the case but now theyíve just said we need our home valued. This was never mentioned before. They now say what we owe the mortgage is less than what it is valued. So they need look to apply to remortgage so they can take the equity for the trust. Is this right? Like Iím scared that in 5 years when we are finished with the trust they will have some claim on my home. Can anyone help?

C.Livie

TDA (Debt Adviser)
Trust Deed Expert

12834 Posts

Posted - 11 January 2019 :  15:41:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome to the forum Stewy19.

The situation with your home should certainly have been explained to you at an early stage. It's incredibly important.

First the scary bit. When you sign a trust deed you are "conveying your assets" to your trustee. You're giving your trustee the responsibility to use your assets (if you have any) to help repay your creditors.

If you have equity in your home (the mortgage is less than the value of the home) then this is an asset.

Now the slightly less scary bit. If there's a little equity in your home then it might be possible to deal with it without a sale of the home. Sometimes you might make extra payments (for example, five years rather than the usual four) so that creditors receive some of the benefit of your equity.