Scottish Trust Deed Forum
 Limited company assets after Trust Deed
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

stu1382

5 Posts

Posted - 16 April 2018 :  06:21:21  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all,

I'm halfway through my trust deed at the moment. I'm studying a degree and working weekends driving trucks. All is good, decent wage coming in and the trust deed is being paid.
I have recently been getting a few trips offshore again though, which pays rather well. My plan is to set up a limited company and put any offshore work through that. Therefore there is a potential for the limited company to have a not too bad equity in two years time.
Let's say it has 40k in the bank, if I'm the majority shareholder, how much am I going to have to relinquish to the trust deed at the end of my agreement?

Kevin Mapstone
Trust Deed Expert

3584 Posts

Posted - 16 April 2018 :  09:30:57  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi stu1382

Any assets that accrue during the course of your trust Deed potentially have to be realised for creditors, which could include the full amount of the value of your shareholding in a limited company.

Recommended Partner & Trust Deed Expert - Ask me for help setting up a Scottish Trust Deed    
Go to Top of Page

stu1382

5 Posts

Posted - 16 April 2018 :  10:22:18  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Kevin

Thank you for a quick response.
That's what I was afraid of. What if I had next to zero shares in the company and someone I trusted had the majority, is it only the shares that I own that can be claimed by the creditors?
Go to Top of Page

TDA (Debt Adviser)
Trust Deed Expert

12549 Posts

Posted - 16 April 2018 :  10:32:16  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi stu1382.

From the perspective of the debt professionals answering questions on this site, I hope you can understand that there are challenges associated with advising someone on how to keep their earnings away from their creditors and trustee.